Playbill: Pearl Cleage and Dale R. Shields Named Winners of Paul Robeson Awards

Following a three-year hiatus due to the COVID-19 pandemic, Actors’ Equity Association and Actors’ Equity Foundation will present the Paul Robeson Award to Dale R. Shields for 2021, Pearl Cleage for 2022, and The Black Repertory Theatre of Kansas City for 2023. 

These awards—the only award jointly administered by the actors and stage managers union and the foundation supporting the professional theatrical community—will be presented at local ceremonies later this year, at times and locations to be announced.

The Paul Robeson Award, given annually since Robeson received the first Citation in 1974, honors individuals who leverage theatre to go beyond the stage to enact their commitment to the freedom of expression and conscience.