2011 – The Scotsboro Boys

The Scottsboro Boys will receive Actors' Equity Association's Advisory Committee on Chorus Affairs (ACCA) Fifth Annual ACCA Award for Outstanding Broadway Chorus. The honor is the only industry accolade of its kind and honors the distinctive talents and contributions made by the original chorus members of a Broadway musical. The award will be presented in the Actors' Equity Association Council Room, overlooking Times Square, on Friday, November 18, 2011.

The winners of the ACCA Award for Outstanding Broadway Chorus, all of whom were part of The Scottsboro Boys chorus on the musical's October 31, 2010 opening night, are: Josh Breckenridge, Derrick Cobey, E. Clayton Cornelious, Jeremy C. Gumbs, Rodney Hicks, Kendrick Jones, James T. Lane, J.C. Montgomery, Clinton Roane, Julius B. Thomas, Christian Dante White.

"This award acknowledges and honors the enormous talent and contributions members of a chorus make to a Broadway production," said Equity Second Vice President and Chair of the ACCA Rebecca Kim Jordon. "The chorus members of The Scottsboro Boys are gifted professionals who exemplify the hard work, dedication and talent it takes to be outstanding in a Broadway musical."

In reviewing the chorus of each Broadway musical, the ACCA applied specific criteria to reach their decision. The ACCA considered the requirements made on each chorus by the director, the choreographer, and the musical director. They also considered the caliber of technical skill used to execute those requirements as well as the contributions made by the entire chorus to the overall production. All 12 Broadway chorus musicals that opened in the 2010-2011 season were eligible for the award.

The Scottsboro Boys is the thrilling final collaboration by musical theater giants John Kander and Fred Ebb. Based on the notorious "Scottsboro" case in the 1930s, in which nine (9) African-American men were unjustly accused of a terrible crime, the musical explored a fascinating chapter in American history.

The musical was directed by five-time Tony Award winner Susan Stroman and featured a book by David Thompson. Set design was by Beowulf Boritt, costume design by Toni-Leslie James, lighting was designed by Ken Billington and sound design by Peter Hylenski. Orchestrations were by Larry Hochman, with musical arrangements by Glen Kelly. Music direction was by David Loud.

The Scottsboro Boys, which received 12 Tony Award nominations, was produced on Broadway by Barry and Fran Weissler, Jacki Barlia Florin, Janet Pailet/Sharon A. Carr/Patricia R. Klausne, Nederlander Presetations Inc./The Shubert Organization Inc., Beechwood Entertainment, Broadway Across America, Mark Zimmerman, Adam Blanshay/R2D2 Productions, Rick Danzansky/Barry Tatelman, Bruce Robeert Harris/Jack W. Batman, Allen Spivek/Jerry Frankel, Bard Theatricals/Probo Productions/Randy Donaldson, Catherine Schreiber/Michael Palitz/Patti Laskawy, Vineyard Theatre.

The chorus of The Scottsboro Boys with their ACCA Awards