2023 – New York, New York

Actors' Equity Association has presented New York, New York with the 2023 ACCA Award for Outstanding Broadway Chorus. Presented by Equity’s Advisory Committee on Chorus Affairs (ACCA), the ACCA Award is the first industry accolade of its kind to honor the distinctive talents and contributions made by the original chorus members of a Broadway musical. 

The 25 individual recipients of the 2023 ACCA Award – all of whom were part of the New York, New York chorus on the musical’s April 26, 2023 Broadway opening night – are Wendi Bergamini, Allison Blackwell, Giovanni Bonaventura, Jim Borstelmann, Lauren Carr, Bryan J. Cortés, Kristine M. Covillo, Gabriella Enriquez, Haley Fish, Ashley Blair Fitzgerald, Richard Gatta, Stephen Hanna, Naomi Kakuk, Akina Kitazawa, Ian Liberto, Kevin Ligon, Leo Moctezuma, Aaron Nicholas Patterson, Dayna Marie Quincy, Julian Ramos, Drew Redington, Benjamin Rivera, Davis Wayne, Jeff Williams and Darius Wright. 

The award was presented on Wednesday, July 19, on the stage of the musical’s home at the St. James Theatre. Each original chorus member received a personalized trophy. 

“The ACCA award is unique in this industry because it is presented by peers, fellow members who perform chorus work, who have a deep understanding of what it takes to contribute successfully to a production.” said Actors' Equity Association 2nd Vice President and ACCA Chair Al Bundonis.

“I really want to thank you. It’s been a hard few years,” said Actors’ Equity Association President Kate Shindle. “This season, without question, was the most incredible Broadway season from start to finish that I have ever witnessed. This one made me feel like we’re back. And you gave that to us.” 

“The chorus is a really close-knit community. You all have each other’s back. You all take care of each other,” said Actors' Equity Association Executive Director Al Vincent, Jr. "You’re very important to this union. The Chorus contract is a vital part of Actors’ Equity.” 

“When I heard the news [of this award], I started to cry because the chorus is really the backbone of any production, but particularly you are the backbone of New York, New York,” said Susan Stroman, director and choreographer of New York, New York. "You are the fabric of New York, and you are the fabric of making New York City on the stage. I am so proud of all of you.” 

In reviewing the chorus of each Broadway musical that opened in the 2022-2023 theatrical season, the ACCA considered the chorus requirements made by each production's director, choreographer and musical director; the caliber of technical skill used to execute those requirements; and the unique contributions made by the entire chorus to the overall production. Nominators for the ACCA Award are members of the ACCA, all of whom are chorus performers themselves. The winner was determined by a vote of ACCA members, Equity chorus councilors, as well as past recipients of Equity's Legacy Robe. All voters saw no fewer than five of the six ACCA-nominated musicals this season. 

Previous recipients of the ACCA Award are the original chorus members of Legally Blonde (2007), In the Heights (2008), West Side Story (2009), Fela! (2010), The Scottsboro Boys (2011), Newsies (2012), Pippin (2013), Beautiful – The Carole King Musical (2014), An American in Paris (2015), Shuffle Along, Or The Making Of The Musical Sensation Of 1921 And All That Followed (2016), Natasha, Pierre & The Great Comet of 1812 (2017), Once on This Island (2018) and Hadestown (2019). Last year, the ACCA presented two special awards honoring the resilience of everyone in the Broadway choruses of the shuttered 2019-20 Broadway season, as well as in the shows that brought Broadway back in the 2021-22 season. 

You can watch the full ceremony here.

Members of the 'New York, New York' company at the ACCA Award ceremony. Photo by Jay-Rey Rivera.

Photo by Jay-Rey Rivera.