Frederick O'Neal c. 1965

The Frederick O'Neal Award was established in 2020. The Frederick O'Neal Award uplifts an Eastern Region member or non-Broadway theatre whose work demonstrates a long-lasting commitment to representing and welcoming people from all walks of life on their stage, in the wings and indeed in all aspects of theatre. The award is named for Frederick O'Neal, the first African-American president of Actors' Equity Association. The first Frederick O’Neal award will be awarded in the spring of 2021. Stay tuned for an announcement.


Nominations for all EEOC-administered awards are available year-round, and open to the public. All nominations for the 2021 award year must be submitted by 5:00 p.m. ET on Monday, January 31, 2022.