Green Day's American Idiot was the recipient of Actors' Equity Association's Extraordinary Excellence in Diversity on Broadway Award for the 2009–2010 Season. The Diversity Award was presented at a reception at the Equity headquarters in New York City on Tuesday, June 15, 2010.

Created in 2007, the Award is presented by Equity's Eastern Region Equal Employment Opportunity (EEO) Committee. Committee Co-Chairs Christine Toy Johnson and Julia Breanetta Simpson said that Award "honors and encourages those who actively promote our mutual goals of diversity, inclusion and equal opportunity for all who work in the theatre in ways that are viewed by the committee as 'outside of the box'." Past recipients include the Roundabout Theatre Company's production of 110 in the Shade, the revival of Les Misérables, and Billy Elliot.

American Idiot follows the journey of a new generation of young Americans as they strive to find meaning in a post 9/11 world. The musical, which is nominated for a Tony Award for Best Musical, stars John Gallagher Jr., Starks Sands, Michael Esper, Rebecca Naomi Jones, Christina Sajous, Mary Faber and Tony Vincent. The cast also includes Declan Bennett, Andrew Call, Gerard Canonico, Miguel Cervantes, Joshua Henry, Van Hughes, Brian Charles Johnson, Joshua Kobak, Lorin Latarro, Omar Lopez-Cepero, Leslie McDonel, Chase Peacock, Theo Stockman, Ben Thompson, Alysha Umpress, Aspen Vincent, Sean Wing and Libby Winters.

Green Day's Billie Joe Armstrong is lyricist and co-book writer and Michael Mayer directed and co-wrote the book. American Idiot's creative team also includes Tom Kitt (musical supervisor/arrangements/orchestrations) and Steven Hoggett (choreography). The show features scenic design by Christine Jones, costume design by Andrea Lauer, lighting design by Kevin Adams, sound design by Brian Ronan as well as video design by Darrel Maloney. Musical Director is Carmel Dean and Lorin Latarro is the Associate Choreographer. Tom Hulce and Ira Pittelman are the producers.

Actors' Equity Association represents more than 49,000 professional stage actors and stage managers nationwide. It is the oldest performing arts union in the country and preparations are underway to celebrate Equity's 100th anniversary in 2013. 

From L to R: Equity President Nick Wyman, American Idiot Producers Tom Hulce and Ira Pittelman and EEO Committee Co-Chair Christine Toy Johnson

From L to R: Equity President Nick Wyman, American Idiot Producers Tom Hulce and Ira Pittelman and EEO Committee Co-Chair Christine Toy Johnson