AEA Logo

The Equity Awards

Members Only

  About Equity Home
  Equity Government
  Offices & Staff
  Contracts & Codes
  AEA Foundation


Paul Robeson Citation Award

Now Accepting Nominations for 2017

The Paul Robeson Citation Award is presented to an individual or organization which best exemplifies and practices the principles and ideals to which Paul Robeson devoted his life.

Award Criteria:

  • The recipient must exemplify each of the following standards:
    1. Commitment to the freedom of expression and conscience.
    2. Belief in the Artistís responsibility to society and respect for the individual.
    3. Dedication and concern for service to all humankind.


  • Nominations for the Paul Robeson Citation Award must be submitted in writing and attest to how the nominee fulfills the award criteria.
  • Nominations must include the following:
    1. A narrative on how the nominee embodies each of the three criteria.
    2. A description of the relationship of nominator to the nominee (if applicable).

Deadline for receipt of Nomination Form and required narratives is August 23, 2017, 5pm Eastern.

You may complete the nomination form online below or download the form as a PDF and submit it to committee via email or by mailing it to
Actors' Equity Foundation
165 West 46th Street
New York, NY 10036
Paul Robeson Citation Award
Attn: Joan Glazer

Fill out my online form.



Award pages:

Arizona Theatre Service
Diversity on Broadway

On June 1, 1971, the Council of Actors' Equity Association established what is now known as the Paul Robeson Committee, and designated Frederick O'Neal as Chair. The Committee resolved to present annual citations to the individual or organization that, during the preceding year or years, best exemplified and practiced the principles and ideals of this great humanitarian, Paul Robeson. For a complete list of recipients click here.

Paul Robeson as Othello

Recipients of the Paul Robeson Award are:

Year Recipient
1974 Paul Robeson
1975 Ossie Davis & Ruby Dee
1976 Lillian Hellman
1977 Pete Seeger
1978 Sam Jaffe
1979 Harry Belafonte
1980 Alice Childress
1981 Studs Terkel
1982 Ed Asner
1983 John Henry Faulk
1984 Lena Horne
1985 Arthur Mitchell
1986 Vinie Burrows
1987 Joe Papp
1988 Jacques D'Amboise
1989 Bill Ross & Dr. Margaret Burroughs
1990 Maya Angelou
1991 Gordon Parks
1992 Art D'Lugoff
1993 Katherine Dunham
1994 Lloyd Richards
1995 Gil Noble
1996 George C. Wolfe
1997 Athol Fugard
1998 Leonard Etienne de Paul
1999 Loften Mitchell
2000 Rosetta LeNoire
2001 Brock Peters
2002 Gertrude Jeanette
2003 Woodie King, Jr.
2004 Judith Jamison
2005 Carl Harms
2006 Bill Cosby
2007 Mercedes Ellington
2008 Sidney Poitier
2009 Micki Grant
2010 Charles Randolph-Wright
2011 James Earl Jones
2012 William Greaves
2013 Shauneille Perry
2014 Baayork Lee
2015 Arthur French
2016 ASTEP


Home | Members Only | About Equity | Member Benefits | Document Library
FAQ | News and Media | Membership Department | Contact

© 2017 . Actors' Equity Association. Terms of Use | Privacy